Gustavo Santaolalla


Released: June 10, 2014

Label: Visual Music, Inc. / Sony

About the Artist


Buy now on Amazon | Gustavo Santaolalla | Camino Available now on iTunes | Gustavo Santaolalla | Camino Listen now on Spotify | Gustavo Santaolalla | Camino

The New Album by the Grammy® and Academy Award®-Winning Composer

Gustavo Santaolalla’s 1997 solo instrumental album “Ronroco” was the pivotal musical catalyst that began his notoriety as one of the most sought-after composers in the film, TV and advertising worlds. CAMINO (road, path, journey in Spanish) is the long-awaited follow-up to that album a rich and beautiful instrumental journey featuring Santaolalla’s unmistakable sound and song craft. The album includes 12 new tracks, along with one of the featured tracks from his recent BAFTA Games -nominated soundtrack to Sony PlayStation®’s “The Last of Us.” CAMINO primarily features Santaolalla’s signature playing of the ronroco (a 10-string Andean folk instrument, similar to the churranga) along with touches of the many other string instruments he has mastered such as guitar, guitarrón, oud, cuatro, toba violin & bouzouki.

Gustavo Santaolalla is a multi-faceted artist that is best known for his work writing movie scores and producing albums. He is also the founder of the alt-tango band, Bajofondo. As a composer, he has won two Academy Awards® for Best Original Score for his work on Babel and Brokeback Mountain, for which he also won a Golden Globe® Award. He s won two Grammy Awards® as an album producer: Best Latin Pop Album for “Juanes’ La Vida…Es Un Ratico” and Best Latin Rock/Alternative Album for Cafe Tacuba’s “Cuatro Caminos.” Most recently, Santaolalla composed the score for the Jack Kerouac movie, “On The Road,” and he is currently writing the score for the stage musical “Pan’s Labyrinth.”

1. Alma
2. Vamos
3. Requiem
4. Cordon de Plata
5. Ella
6. The Maze
7. Parana
8. Wait and Then
9. Through the Rainwall
10. Joaillerie
11. The Journey
12. Seguir
13. Returning